Contest Winner

Elixir Press Book Award Announced

The Judge’s Prize, which was chosen by Teresa Leo, is Little Oblivion by Susan Allspaw, Aurora, CO. The Editor’s Prize is Quelled Communiqués by Chloe Joan Lopez, Colchester, VT. Congratulations to the winners.


2012 Fence Modern Poets Series Winners Announced

Fence Books has announced two winners of the 2012 Fence Modern Poets Series prize. The winning books will come out in the fall of 2012. They are Eyelid Lick, by Donald Dunbar of Portland, Oregon and In the Laurels, Caught, by Lee Ann Brown of New York City and Marshall, North Carolina. Congratulations to both.


Richard Snyder Poetry Prize Winner Announced

Gabriel Spera’s manuscript The Rigid Body was chosen by Natasha Tretheway for publication by Ashland Poetry Press later this year.

Manuscripts are now being accepted for the 2012 Snyder Prize. Contact me soonest if you would like your manuscript prepped for this and other spring poetry book/chap book competitions.


2011 Black Lawrence Press Chapbook Contest Winner Announced

Nick McRae’s manuscript, Mountain Redemption, has been chosen as the winner of the Black Lawrence Press 2011 Black River Chapbook Competition. McRae currently teaches creative writing at Ohio State University. Finalists and semi-finalists are listed below.

Poetry Finalists

Bone Letters – Peter Schwartz & Nicelle Davis
Farmstead of the Burning Field – Duncan Campbell
Mountain Redemption – Nick McRae
not meant for you Dear Love – Brian Clements

Poetry Semi-Finalists

Annunciation – Barbara Tomash
Malice Aforethought – Jon Flieger
Proximity – Jan Freeman
Sludge – Vivian Prescott
The War Reporter – Dan O’Brien


Omnidawn’s First/Second Book Prize Winner Announced

C.D. Wright has chosen fault tree by Kathryn L. Pringle as the winner for Omnidawn Publishing’s First/Second Poetry Prize. The finalists of the 2011 First/Second Book Competition (in alphabetical order by last name) are: Jill Darling, Mount Clemens, Michigan; Leora Fridman, Florence, Massachusetts; Eryn Green, Denver, Colorado; Jane Gregory, Berkeley, California; and Soham Patel, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.

I will be posting announcements of contest winners on this blog so check back frequently.

  • 2017 (3)
  • 2016 (7)
  • 2015 (3)
  • 2014 (5)
  • 2013 (8)
  • 2012 (25)
  • 2011 (12)
  • 2010 (19)
  • 2009 (25)
  • 2008 (25)
  • 2007 (13)
  • 2006 (16)